Supervisor: Kathy | Phone: 610-891-4293 | Fax: 610-891-4115
Treasurer's Office hours are from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, Monday thru Friday.
The Tax Claim Bureau is authorized by State law to collect unpaid property taxes for the three taxing authorities:
County of Delaware
Municipality (Township or Borough)
Current year tax collection ends on December 31st of any given year. On March 1st, the Bureau begins the process for collecting prior year taxes. Interest is added to the outstanding debt at a rate of 0.75% per month. A service fee of $64 is also added in. Additional fees are incurred from time to time to cover costs of delinquency notification and for documentation prior to the ultimate sale of the property. Properties are auctioned for sale annually in the late summer in what is known as the Upset Price Sale.
Unsold properties from the Upset Price Sale are auctioned again in the spring, free and clear of liens, by permission of the Court in what is known as the Judicial Sale. Properties failing a successful sale here are held by the County on a Repository List. These properties can be purchased at any time, save the weeks immediately following the auction sales by visiting the Tax Claim Bureau.
Below are useful links to property sales.
Delinquent taxes can be paid by mail or at the Tax Claim Bureau counter in the Government Center Building, ground floor. Office hours are 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Monday to Friday. Payment must be made by cash, certified check or money order.
If you call the office for a payoff, please have your 11-digit number ready before placing the call.
The suggested phone number to make contact with the Bureau for payment is (610) 891-4284.
Tax Certifications claiming that taxes are paid/unpaid for current year county taxes are now combined with county, school district and municipality delinquent taxes. Tax Certifications are available from this office for a fee of $25.00.
Send request with a self-addressed stamped envelope to:
Delaware County Government Center
201 W. Front Street
Media, PA 19063
Delinquent tax information can be obtained at Public Access.
You must present adequate documentation to the taxing authority (Municipality, School District, County) if you claim that your property taxes were paid. Documentation usually requires photocopies of both sides of your check(s) or an original official receipted tax bill. Situations vary. Only a Municipality or School District via an exoneration letter to the Tax Claim Bureau can strike the tax lien on a property.