Getting Your Dog License

 Home / Departments / Treasurer Office / Licenses / Getting Your Dog License

Apply. Pay. Print.® and your dog is legal on the spot.

Fast. Easy. Secure.®

Purchase an annual dog license online with a credit/debit card or echeck. After completion of payment, a proof of license can be printed and the license and tag will be mailed to you the following business day. (There is a convenience fee of $2.00 that is charged by the credit card processor.)

Print the annual dog license application and mail in along with payment. Mail payment to:
Delaware County Treasurer's Office, Attn: Dog License
201 West Front Street, Media, PA 19063

For purchases of any license by check when the County is the payee, make checks payable to "Delaware County Treasurer".

Annual Dog License

Regular License Fees
Male and Female: $8.70

Senior Citizen / Person with Disability License Fee
Male and Female: $6.70

Annual dog licenses can be purchased online, by mail, or over the counter at the Treasurer’s Office. There is a convenience fee of $2.00 that is charged by the credit card processor.

Lifetime Dog License

Lifetime licenses must be purchased through the Treasurer’s Office and requires the dog to be tattooed or micro-chipped.

Lifetime License Fee
Male and Female: $52.70

Senior Citizen / Person with Disability Lifetime License Fee
Male and Female: $36.70

Please contact the Treasurer’s Office via phone or email for and details and application.
Phone: 610-891-4276

Yearly Dog License Application Form
Lifetime Dog License Application Form
Permanent Identification Verification Form (portions must be filled out by the vet)

To qualify for a disability license, please provide a copy of your handicap placard or equivalent proof of disability. To qualify for a senior license, you must be 65 years or older and provide proof of age.


A duplicate tag can be obtained by written request, accompanied by a fee of $1.70 made payable to Delaware County Treasurer. Please include a copy of the license, or as much information from the original application. Tags can be obtained immediately at our office.

If you need a copy of the license, please call our office or email.


To transfer a lifetime or annual dog license, send the license number and your personal information to the county that the license was issued. List the new county and address in which the dog will be licensed. The information will then be forwarded to the new treasurer for issuance. The cost of this transaction is $1 payable to the treasurer of each county. Please make a check out to each county treasurer. A transfer can only be made to counties that use the PA Dog License System. Please check the drop-down box for participating counties.

We cannot complete a change of ownership or a transfer of a license unless we have written permission with a signature from the owner of the current license.

Other Information

Outside Agent Listings
Lost Dog Information
Pennsylvania Dog Law Act

Contact Us

  •   201 West Front Street,
         Media, PA 19063
  •   8:30AM - 4:30PM
           Monday - Friday
  •   610-891-4000

About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania.

Read more