County Council Approves the Creation of a Delaware County Sustainability Commission

 Home / Departments / Public Relations Releases / County Council Approves the Creation of a Delaware County Sustainability Commission

Commission being formed to preserve and protect the
County’s natural resources

During the Feb. 19 public council meeting, Delaware County Council unanimously voted to establish a Delaware County Sustainability Commission. Council determined the necessity for the County to both restate and further enhance its commitment to the preservation and protection of the natural and cultural environment of the County and understand the balance and impact of various initiatives and issues which impact the environment. A resolution was passed detailing the need for a Sustainability Commission and the mission and goals of the commission.

The recommendation to establish a Sustainability Commission was presented to Council by the Natural Resources Working Group, one of the twelve Delco Transition Teams created by the three newly elected Council members and two incumbent members to gather important information, identify key issues, and develop and recommend action plans regarding a wide range of issues relating to the governance and management of Delaware County. The Natural Resources Working Group, comprised of environmental experts, concerned citizens, and members of County government examined current practices and programs run by the County relating to environmental conservation, open space preservation, trail building, and sustainability programming.

The Natural Resources Working Group, including Council Chairman Brian Zidek and Councilwoman Elaine Paul Schaefer, reviewed programs of the County Planning Commission, the County Parks & Recreation Board, the Delaware County Conservation District and others to determine best practices to protect and preserve the County’s resources.

“The resolution reflects our recognition that the County needs to step up and take responsibility and leadership, both internally and externally and take a role stewarding our County’s natural resources and environment,” said Councilwoman Elaine Paul Schaefer.

The Delaware County Sustainability Commission (DCSC) will be comprised of eight members of senior management from the County and nine members of the public with expertise in environmental issues and open space.

The DCSC will hold public meetings and provide both review and recommendations to County Council and pertinent County Departments including:

Recommending best environmental and energy practices in the areas of buildings, facilities and operations; fuels, vehicles, and transportation; responsible purchasing; housing; energy sources; air quality; stormwater management; natural and cultural resource protection, wildlife preservation; and climate change.

Identifying environmental and energy policies the County has adopted and recommending ways to promote and educate about the County’s environmental and energy initiatives.

Identifying and recommending voluntary actions, projects, and programs for municipalities, businesses, non-profits, and other partners to implement County environmental and energy policies.

Creating, reviewing and providing ongoing input into a Delaware County Sustainability Action Plan.

Recommending related actions, projects, and programs to County Council for implementation.

The County is accepting applications to join the DSCS. Interested applicants can email a resume and letter of interest to the County Clerk of Delaware County at

Letters and resumes can be mailed to:
County Clerk of Delaware County
201 W. Front St., Media, PA 19063

The full resolution passed on Feb. 19 can be found here:

Contact Us

About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania.

Read more