Board Opening for Community Transit of Delaware County Board of Directors

 Home / Departments / Public Relations Releases / Board Opening for Community Transit of Delaware County Board of Directors

Released: October 23, 2020

Delaware County is seeking to fill a vacancy to the Community Transit of Delaware County Board of Directors.

The Redevelopment Authority of the County of Delaware is an independent governmental agency consisting of 5 members appointed by Delaware County Council. The Authority’s primary responsibility is to assist the County and its municipalities in stimulating economic revitalization and growth. The Redevelopment Authority is vested with all powers necessary or appropriate to carry out and effectuate the purposes and provisions of the Urban Redevelopment Act, 35 P.S. §1701, et seq.

The Redevelopment is tasked with “the acquisition, replanning, clearance, rehabilitation or rebuilding of an area for residential, recreational, commercial, industrial or other purposes, including the provisions of streets, parks, recreational areas and other open spaces.” Redevelopment Areas are initially designated by the County Planning Commission, not the Authority.

Please email a resume and letter of interest to County Clerk of Delaware County at by November 6, 2020.

Board Opening: Community Transit of Delaware County Board of Directors
Location: Government Center Building, Media, PA
Openings: 1 Vacancy
Opening Date: September 28, 2020
Closing Date: November 6, 2020


Community Transit is a 501 (c)(3) private nonprofit corporation that was founded in 1983 for the purpose of providing curb-to-curb, advance reservation, shared-ride transportation to Delaware County residents who cannot use public transit because transportation options are unavailable, insufficient or inappropriate. It fills a need not met by any other project or program in Delaware County, enabling Delaware County residents to be independent. Community Transit’s service promotes independence, enabling access to health care, and employment, to stores, and entertainment venues, to civic and social activities, to family and friends.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of Community Transit comprised of parties with a strong interest in providing paratransit services to residents of Delaware County. Board members are the fiduciaries who steer the organization towards a sustainable future by adopting sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies, as well as by making sure the nonprofit has adequate resources to advance its mission.

The current membership of the Community Transit Board of Directors is comprised of 12 members (four appointed by Delaware County Council) who meet bi-monthly. No employee of Community Transit or of a company providing services to it may be a board member.

Term: 3 Years

Please email resume and letter of interest to County Clerk of Delaware County at

Contact Us

About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania.

Read more