Delaware County Council Honors the Delaware County Veterans Memorial Association

 Home / Departments / Public Relations Releases / Delaware County Council Honors the Delaware County Veterans Memorial Association

Annual Freedom Medal Awards Dinner to be held November 14

Delaware County Council joined members of the Delaware County Veterans Memorial Association on Oct. 31 to announce the 5th annual Freedom Medal Awards Dinner.

The Veterans Memorial Association hosts the annual Freedom Medal Dinner to pay tribute to the brave men and women of the armed services and to also raise funds to support its educational programs that ensure future generations know about our nation’s military history and sacrifice. Delaware County Council once again was proud to partner with the Veterans Memorial Association to host the dinner, held on Nov.14 at Springfield County Club.

The Delaware County Veterans Memorial in Newtown Square was built in 2013 as a tribute to the men and women across Delaware County who have served in the United States military. The Memorial serves as a place to learn about war and conflict in U.S. history, a place to reflect upon the bravery and sacrifice of our local Veterans and a place to honor those who have served to defend our rights and protect our freedom.

“Delaware County is home to many veterans who have bravely served our nation,” said Councilman Mike Culp. “We currently have 35,000 Veterans of all military branches living in Delaware County. Council is proud to participate in the annual dinner each year and honor the award recipients and personally thank them for their bravery and dedication in serving our country.”

The 2018 Freedom Medal Award winners are: Lou Camilli, U.S. Marine Corps Veteran, Joe Hinderhofer, U.S. Marine Corps Veteran, Alan Macauley, U.S. Marine Corps Veteran, Marsha Four, U.S. Army Nurse Corps Veteran, Rudy Shaffhauser, U.S. Navy Veteran and Jeffery White, U.S. Navy Veteran.

The Education Award, in honor of Linda M. Houldin will be presented to Scenic Hills Elementary School. The Dedication to Our Community Award will be presented to SAP. The President’s Award will be presented to Carolyn Hilton-Finney with Independence Blue Cross.

Details on the 5th annual Freedom Medal Awards Dinner and the Delaware County Veterans Memorial can be found here: (link no longer active)

Contact Us

  •   201 West Front Street,
         Media, PA 19063
  •   8:30AM - 4:30PM
           Monday - Friday
  •   610-891-4000

About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania.

Read more