Since 2008, the Court of Common Pleas annually receives the names and addresses of prospective Delaware County jurors from a list compiled by the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts (AOPC). The AOPC data is collected from the Pennsylvania departments of Revenue, Transportation, Welfare and State. The statewide list received by the County is designed to expand the existing jury pool by identifying more citizens who are eligible to serve as jurors.
The law allows persons who have served as a juror a one (1) year exemption. If you are selected and serve on a jury for three (3) days or more, you will be excused for a period of three (3) years from the date of service.
Delaware County has adopted a one day-one trial system. If you are not selected to serve on a jury, you will be excused by the jury office. If you are selected, you will serve for the duration of the trial. Courthouse hours are from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. Jurors are expected to report by 8:30 AM and stay until excused by the Court.
Bring your juror summons with you. Bring some reading material or reading device, the jury selection process can require that you wait in between panel selections. Childcare arrangements should be made in advance. Casual attire is permitted but we ask that you dress appropriately and according to an interior climate considering air conditioning or heating. Lunch and snacks are on your own, however discount certificates are available for various local restaurants and stores.
Please contact Jury Services by calling 610-891-4621 or email email@example.com.
Free juror parking is provided in the County's Orange Street Garage. Upon arrival show your juror summons to the Park Police Officer stationed at the entrance. Garage clearance is limited to 6' 9", and is therefore unable to accommodate vans or large trucks. Should you require further parking accommodations please contact the Courthouse & Park Police the day you are serving at (610) 891-5000, to make parking arrangements.
No. There is no legal requirement that employers must pay you while you are on jury service. Ask your employer what the company policy is, companies differ. Some employers ask you to supply proof that you were at Court for jury service. Delaware County will provide you with a "Jury Certificate" which verifies your service with the Court.
Jurors are allowed to bring their laptops, tablets, iPad and smartphones for personal use. If you are selected as a Juror your devices will be stored in a secure area by courthouse staff. Free public Wifi is available with limited use.
Jurors receive $9.00 a day for the first three days of service. Beginning on the fourth day, the rate increases to $25.00 per day. Jurors also receive mileage for each day of service. The amount is 17 cents per mile which is calculated from post office to post office (Media).
Persons 75 years of age or older who request to be excused shall be exempt or excused from jury duty.
Yes. All the Courtrooms are accessible to people who use wheelchairs. If you have a hearing, sight or mobility concern, please advise the jury staff prior to your date of service so that accommodations can be arranged for you.