
Copies of Marriage Licenses 

 

There are three types of copies available. The options are: 

 

Regular/plain copy ($2.00 check/money order or $2.06 
credit/debit card). This is generally used for genealogy 
purposes and any other purpose that does not require a 
certification by the court that the copy is authentic. 

Certified copy ($25.00 check/money order or $25.75 
credit/debit card). This type of copy is generally required 
when you are changing your name on your driver’s license, 
passport or social security card. 

Exemplified copy ($30.00 check/money order or $30.90 
credit/debit card). This type of copy is generally required for 
foreign governments. 

 

Please note that these are just a few examples of when each 
type of license may be needed and that credit/debit orders 
may not be processed over the phone. For more information, 
please contact 610-891-4414. You may download an order 
form at: www.delcopa.gov/row/marriage.html 

 

 

INFORMATION FOR COUPLES 

GETTING MARRIED 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Provided for your convenience by 

 

Vincent A. Rongione, Esquire 
Register of Wills and  

Clerk of Orphans’ Court  
of Delaware County 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

www.delcopa.gov/row/marriage.html 
Telephone: (610) 891-4400 

http://www.delcopa.gov/row/marriage.html
http://www.delcopa.gov/row/marriage.html


Congratulations! I know this is an exciting time for you. I wish 
you a lifetime of happiness. 
 
All the best, 
 
Vincent A. Rongione, Esquire 
Register of Wills and  
Clerk of Orphans’ Court  
of Delaware County 
 

Your license is not valid until three (3) days after it is issued. 

Obtain License from 
Register of Wills on: 

You can get married on or 
after: 

Monday Thursday 
Tuesday Friday 
Wednesday Saturday 
Thursday Sunday 
Friday Monday 

 
Your License is valid for 60 days after the three-day waiting 
period. Once you receive your license, you can use it any 
county within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Please 
remember to have your officiant complete the Duplicate 
Certificate and mail it to our office within 10 days of the 
ceremony, otherwise your file is incomplete and a $50 fine 
may be assessed. 

Changing Your Name 

Once you are married, one of you may want to change your 
name. 

• Social Security. 

You need to complete a SS-5 form. For more information, 
please contact (800) 772-1213 or go to 
http://www.socialsecurity.gov 

• Driver’s License. 

In Pennsylvania, go to http://www.dmv.state.pa.us 

 
Other things to consider 

Couples should also remember to update the following, if 
applicable: 

• Voter Registrations 
• Car Registrations 
• Bank Accounts 
• Insurance policies 
• Leases 
• Property titles 
• Passports 
• Mail deliveries 
• Employee benefits (insurance, health, savings accounts, 

beneficiaries, etc.) 
• Credit cards 
• Stock, bonds, investments 
• Wills 

http://www.socialsecurity.gov/
http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/

