

Delaware County, PA Marriage License Appointment Guide

Last Updated September 8, 2020

For a video walkthrough of this process please see <u>https://youtu.be/PhlrmnESGC0</u>

You will need:

- ✓ <u>To begin this process AT LEAST thirty (30) days before your wedding</u>
- ✓ <u>\$60 (+\$1.80 technology/CC fee) payment by credit card for your license (paid in advance through ConvergePay, please save your confirmation email)</u>

✓ **Basic Requirements**

- 1. <u>Video-camera:</u> A camera for use during your virtual appointment, one on a smartphone or laptop is fine
- <u>Residency Requirement:</u> you must have Delaware County, PA residency (at least one member of the couple to be wed, as evidenced on a government-issued ID) <u>OR</u> confirmed, documented wedding date at a Delaware County, PA venue
- **3.** <u>Microsoft Teams</u>: For use during your virtual appointment, you need internet access, a *working* Microsoft Teams Account (free on your smartphone, laptop, etc.), and a working video-camera so we can see you sign your paperwork

Note: For an in-person appointment, you still must submit all materials in advance the same as with a virtual appointment, but you must wear a face mask covering nose and mouth or face guard (one will be provided for you if you do not have one) and pass a temperature check prior to entry. Only the couple may be admitted, other individuals such as children may not attend the appointment. Because short-notice cancellations for in-person appointments due to sickness or new government restrictions are possible, we strongly recommend virtual appointments.

✓ <u>Before your appointment</u>

- 1. Complete the online pre-application at <u>https://delcorowonlineservices.co.delaware.pa.us/countyweb/login.do?town=&countyname=DelawarePA</u>
- 2. Email <u>Marriage@co.delaware.pa.us</u> the following in <u>one single email</u>:
 - **A.** Your Online Payment: Order Confirmation Email—(okay to forward it, just don't forget your attachments) you will receive this confirmation *after*

purchasing the \$60 license (+\$1.80 technology/CC fee) online through <u>ConvergePay</u>

- **B.** Copies of photo identification of both parties to be wed (usually two driver's licenses)
- C. If you or your future spouse was previously married:
 - If your most recent marriage ended by cause of divorce, a PDF of a <u>certified</u> copy of the <u>finalized</u> divorce decree for your most recent marriage, available to order from the court where you were divorced.
 - If you were divorced in Delaware County, see the Office of Judicial Support at

https://www.delcopa.gov/ojs/divorce.html

- If your most recent marriage ended by cause of death, a PDF of an original death certificate or copy of death certificate, available to order from the state where the individual passed away.
 - If the individual passed away in Pennsylvania, please see the ordering process at <u>https://www.health.pa.gov/topics/certificates/Pages/Death-Certificates.aspx</u>
- ✓ To be familiar with the timeline: There is a mandatory 3 day waiting period under the PA Marriage Statute between the time that the Marriage License is applied for and when the Marriage License may be used. For most couples, these three days will pass while their license travels to them via U.S. mail. After the Marriage License is issued, it is valid for 60 days and can only be used in the State of Pennsylvania.

1. <u>GET MICROSOFT TEAMS</u>: For virtual appointments, couples must be available by video-audio virtual means on <u>Microsoft Teams</u>, a free video platform. This means you must install Microsoft Teams on either your computer or phone and ensure that your microphone and video-camera are working <u>prior</u> to your virtual marriage license appointment. Teams is available online on app stores and at: <u>https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/microsoft-teams/group-chat-software</u>. Per Delaware County's IT Department, we cannot perform virtual appointments on any other platform (including FaceTime and Zoom) due to security risks.

Note: You both must appear. Most couples appear together on video. Each member of the couple need not be in the same physical location, but if you will appear separately, each member needs an account and camera.

2. <u>COMPLETE ONLINE PRE-APPLICATION</u>: All couples must complete the Marriage License online application. It can be accessed anywhere they have internet access at the following address:

https://delcorowonlineservices.co.delaware.pa.us/countyweb/login.do?town=&countyname=Dela warePA. After you fill in the information for each marriage license applicant, and for the parents of each marriage license applicant, click the <u>Submit to County</u> hyperlink.

	24	ty, Pennsylvania 16 <i>14 Jahrens, Watery and Gammerce</i>	
Inch Guide Preferences Print Queue Print History age Application App 1 Info App 1 Parent App 2 Info App Father's Birthplace (State or Country): Father's Birthplace (State or Country):	Ken Roe	Submit to County Trans #1200008444	Need Help? Log O
Father's Res. (State or Country): Father's Occupation: Mother's Name: Mother's Maiden: Mother's Birthplace (State or Country): Mother's Res. (State or Country): Mother's Occupation:	Teacher Lisa Roe Miller New York, NY Hartford, CT	 App 2 Parents App 2 Parents 	

3. PAY THE \$60 (+1.80 technology/CC fee) LICENSE FEE THROUGH CONVERGEPAY AND RECEIVE ONLINE PAYMENT: ORDER CONFIRMATION

EMAIL: The couple is responsible for paying the \$60 license fee (+\$1.80 technology/CC fee) online with a credit or bank card, reviewing the confirmation email, and saving that confirmation page in order to forward to us (don't forget to include your attachments when you forward it). Couples who need to arrange for alternative payment must recognize this will result in delay but should contact the office for next steps. We do not accept cash under any circumstances.

ピシ○キ↓	÷	Order Confirmation N	lovember 30, 2020 - Message (H	IML)				
File Message Help 🗘 Tell me what you want to do								
⊠lgnore ∭ — ⊗Junk ~ Delete Archive Delete	Reply Reply Forward All Respond	⊡ Petitions → To Manager ⊡ Team Email ✓ Done ↔ Reply & Delete 梦 Create New Quick Steps	Actions → Move	Mark Categorize Follow Unread Up Tags IS Eco				
Order Confirmation November 30, 2020								
10 there are possibles with how this message is displayed, click here to view it in a web browser.								
					\$60.00 USD 09/05/2020 10:28:21 AM D OF DELAWARE REGISTER OF WILLS			
Your payment has been approved								
Payment MC 54*******0538 Transaction ID 050920A44-4F970C6F-21DD-49C4-81CC-CA9CF8C7724A Approval Code 17520P								
Thank you for your purchase! Please forward this confirmation page with copies of your IDs and any other documents if applicable (divorce decrees, etc.) to marriage@co.delaware.pa.us.								
		To	otal	\$60.00 USD				

4. <u>EMAIL YOUR MATERIALS TO US:</u> The couple is responsible for scheduling the appointment with the Marriage License Department by <u>emailing</u> <u>Marriage@co.delaware.pa.us</u> with <u>subject line Virtual Marriage Appointment Request</u>. If you seek one of our in-person appointments, please use <u>subject line In-Person Marriage Appointment</u> <u>Request</u>. You need to complete the online pre-application and submit all materials via email in advance regardless of whether you want a virtual or in-person appointment. *Please submit all materials in one single email to expedite processing!*

Here is what you must email as <u>one single email plus attachments</u> to <u>Marriage@co.delaware.pa.us</u>:

- **A. Your Online Payment: Order Confirmation Email** (it is okay to forward this to us from your email inbox, but please don't forget to attached your IDs and other materials! Failing to do so will result in delay.)
- **B.** Photo Identification of <u>both</u> parties, such as a driver's license. At least one member of the couple must have residency in Delaware County, PA.
- C. Prior Marriage? If your most recent marriage ended by cause of divorce, a PDF of a certified copy of the finalized divorce decree for your most recent marriage, available to order from the court where you were divorced. If you were divorced in Delaware County, see the Office of Judicial Support at https://www.delcopa.gov/ojs/divorce.html. If your most recent marriage ended by cause of death, a PDF of an original death certificate or copy of death certificate, available to order from the state where the individual passed away. If the individual passed away in Pennsylvania, please see the ordering process at https://www.health.pa.gov/topics/certificates/Pages/Death-Certificates.aspx.

5. <u>ONCE WE RECEIVE AND REVIEW YOUR PRE-APPLICATION AND</u> EMAIL, WE WILL EMAIL YOU WITH A TIME/DATE FOR A 30-MINUTE

APPOINTMENT SLOT: We will review your information and, once it's complete, email you your appointment date and time along with a link to the Teams videoconference. For virtual appointments, please make sure you have both a camera and a printer because you will need to print and <u>both parties will sign the Marriage License Application on camera during your virtual appointment</u>. You must be ready to go on Microsoft Teams (signed in, etc.) at least ten (10) minutes in advance of your appointment. All individuals should have already verified their Microsoft Teams account and audio-visual equipment in advance. Please note that if your account malfunctions or equipment fails, you will have to reschedule your appointment.

Note: For in-person appointments, you will need to arrive early enough to park and to successfully pass a temperature check upon entry to the building. You will also need to wear a face mask covering nose and mouth. If you do not have one, one will be provided for you. If you cannot wear a mask due to a medical restriction, a face guard will be provided for you. If you are late, you will have to reschedule your appointment. Please understand that in-person appointments may be canceled on short-notice due to unforeseen sickness or changed government restrictions, and that we may not be able to reschedule you in time. We strongly recommend virtual appointments.

6. <u>YOUR APPOINTMENT:</u> For virtual appointments, <u>we must be able to see over</u> video both parties sign the Marriage License Application in real time. No additional fee will be associated with this service during the declared emergency. For in-person appointments, you must arrive on time, complete temperature checks, and adhere to all building social-distancing restrictions.

7. <u>AFTER THE APPOINTMENT:</u> After your virtual appointment, our office will prepare the Marriage License with an Official Seal. Then, your Marriage License will be sent to you via U.S. mail. Congratulations!