

COUNCIL

John P. McBlain Chairman

Colleen P. Morrone Vice Chairman

Michael F. Culp Kevin M. Madden Brian P. Zidek COUNTY OF DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 20 South 69<sup>th</sup> Street, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Upper Darby, PA 19082

610-713-2571 FAX NUMBER: 610-713-2378 EMAIL: delcowomenscommission@gmail.com



COMMISSION

Caitlin Ganley, Chair Chelsey Price, Vice Chair Lisa Dort, Treasurer Gina Sage, Secretary

Emily Harris Pearl Kim Anna-Marie Murphy, Esq. Kate Schramm Sukha Williams Patricia Morrisette Beth Gowie Danielle Peyakovich McNichol Lyndsey J. Conan Meaghan R. Wagner Sunday J. Dyitt

Dear Community Leader,

In honor of Women's History Month, the Delaware County Women's Commission recognizes women who have profoundly influenced women and girls in our County. Every year the National Women's History Project - the leading organization that successfully lobbied Congress for the creation of Women's History Month - offers a premise in which to base these honors.

Guided by the 2019 theme, *"VISIONARY WOMEN: Champions of Peace & Nonviolence,"* the Commission will celebrate women of Delaware County who represent the 2019 theme in honor of Women's History Month. We are reaching out to you as a valued member of the community, to suggest nominees in one of three categories: The Woman of Achievement Award, Present and Future and the Hall of Fame Award.

We are looking for honorees who have worked to end conflicts in their homes, schools, and communities. They have rejected violence as counterproductive and stressed the need to restore respect, establish justice, and reduce the causes of conflict as the surest way to peace.

The Woman of Achievement is a current Visionary Leader from our community who is a Champion of Peach and Nonviolence and the Achievement Award of the Future premiers this year to honor a young female who has championed peace and non-violence in her life. The Hall of Fame Award is offered to a woman who has passed, but whose actions have continued a legacy that extends beyond her time with us.

We ask that you submit your nominations by January 25, 2019. Once received, the candidates will be considered, the nominees announced, and a breakfast celebration will take place on March 27, 2019 at 8:00 am at Springfield Country Club.

On behalf of the entire Delaware County Women's Commission, I thank you for your time and consideration. Please direct any questions to <u>DelcoWomensCommission@Gmail.com</u>.

Sincerely,

Caitlin Ganley Chair, Delaware County Women's Commission